How to extract the title from a URL in Google Sheets

Have you tried getting any useful data from a webpage using Excel and found that it just doesn't work?

I'm not surprised. I spent 2 days trying to figure this out.

Options included:

  • Beautiful Soup

  • Python

  • Excel's data queries

But none of those steps worked for such a simple-minded individual as me.

Finally while searching Google for about the 50th time, I finally put in some magical order of words that gave me an answer outside of Excel: Google's Sheets

I have a table with 2000+ links, and I need those to be able to get those links converted into meaningful titles.

All you have to do is put your cursor over the link, then press "Yes" to replace the URL with the title.

Voila!

I need to sharpen my Google-fu so this doesn't take me 2 days again.